< Polymer International - IUPAC Award -- 2014 Call for Nominations
31 May 2013 15:04 Age: 3 year
Category: Awards

Awardees of the IUPAC 2013 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering

The awardees of the IUPAC 2013 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering are as follows:

  • Professor Irina P. Beletskaya, Moscow State University, Russia
  • Dr Annette Doherty, Senior VP Product Development, GlaxoSmithKline Plc, UK
  • Professor Mary Garson, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Professor Evamarie Hey-Hawkins, University of Leipzig, Germany
  • Professor Kazue Kurihara, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Professor Liliana Mammino, University of Venda, South Africa
  • Professor Elsa Reichmanis, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Professor ConcepciĆ³ Rovira, Institute of Materials Science of Barcelona, Spain
  • Professor Maria Vallet-Regi, Universidad Complutense, Spain
  • Professor Angela Wilson, University of North Texas, USA
  • Professor Yi Xie, University of Science & Technology of China, China

The awards program, initiated as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry celebrations, is to acknowledge and promote the work of women chemists/chemical engineers worldwide. The 11 Awardees have been selected based on excellence in basic or applied research, distinguished accomplishments in teaching or education, or demonstrated leadership or managerial excellence in the chemical sciences. The Awards Committee has been particularly interested in nominees with a history of leadership and/or community service during their careers.

In 2011, 23 women were honored during a ceremony held at the IUPAC Congress in San Juan, Puerto Rico, on 2 August 2011 sponsored by a challenge grant from the American Chemical Society and also support from Dow Chemical. This year, a similar award ceremony will take place during the IUPAC Congress in Istanbul, Turkey, in August 2013 and starting with the symposium: Women in Chemistry: Gaining Momentum, and followed by a reception in honor of the recipients.


< Originating call 31 Jan 2013