< Awardees of the IUPAC 2013 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering
3 Jun 2013 13:37 Age: 3 year
Category: Awards

IUPAC Announces Winners of the 2013 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) today announced the winners of the 2013 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists awarded for the best PhD theses in the chemical sciences as described in 1000-word essays. The five Winners are:

  • Daishi Fujita, Japan - University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

  • Thomas Kempa, USA - Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA

  • Huifeng Qian, China - Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

  • Hailiang Wang, China - Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA

  • Qiao Zhang, China - University of California, Riverside, CA, USA

The Winners will each receive a cash prize of USD 1000 and travel expenses to the 44th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress, 8-15 August 2013, in Istanbul, Turkey. Each prizewinner will also be invited to present a poster at the IUPAC Congress describing his/her award-winning work and to submit a short critical review on aspects of his/her research topic to be published in Pure and Applied Chemistry. The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2012 and 2013 prizes during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress.

The essays describing the 2013 Winners’ theses may be found on the IUPAC web site and cover a wide range of subject matter:

  • Dr. Fujita: Protein Encapsulation within Synthetic Molecular Hosts

  • Dr. Kempa: Nanowire Architectures for Next-Generation Solar Cells and Photonic Devices

  • Dr. Qian: Controlling Gold Nanoparticles with Atomic Precision: Synthesis and Structure Determination

  • Dr. Wang: Inorganic/Graphene Hybrid Nanomaterials for Electrochemical Energy Storage and Conversion

  • Dr. Zhang: Nanomaterials Engineering and Applications in Catalysis

There were 43 applications from 15 different countries. The Prize Selection Committee comprised members of the IUPAC Bureau with a wide range of expertise in chemistry. The committee was chaired by Prof. Nicole Moreau, IUPAC Past President. In view of the many high-quality applications, the Committee also decided to give six Honorable Mention Awards to:

  • Sarah Bronner, USA - University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

  • Paul Brown, UK - University of Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom

  • Gaston Corthey, Argentina - Universidad Nacional de La Plata, La Plata, Argentina

  • Thierry Fouquet, France - Aix-Marseille University, Aix-en-Provence, France

The recipients of Honorable Mention Awards will receive a cash prize of USD 100 and a copy of Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry, the IUPAC Green Book.

IUPAC was formed in 1919 by chemists from industry and academia. For almost nine decades, the Union has succeeded in fostering worldwide communications in the chemical sciences and in uniting academic, industrial and public sector chemistry in a common language. IUPAC is recognized as the world authority on chemical nomenclature, terminology, standardized methods for measurement, atomic weights and many other critically evaluated data. In more recent years, IUPAC has been pro-active in establishing a wide range of conferences and projects designed to promote and stimulate modern developments in chemistry, and also to assist in aspects of chemical education and the public understanding of chemistry.

More information about IUPAC and its activities is available at <www,iupac.org>.