Preface

The Eighth International IUPAC Conference on Organic Synthesis was held in Helsinki (Finland) during 23-27 July 1990. The Conference was attended by 830 participants drawn from 49 countries. Most of the plenary and invited lectures presented at the Conference are published in this issue of *Pure and Applied Chemistry* in accordance with the previous traditions of this series of meetings. Some 44 oral short communications and 310 posters presented reflect the growing global importance of the subject. The Conference, in particular, benefitted from new ideas from the younger generation (up to age 30) of workers in the field, including a large number of women chemists. Another novel feature involved the online display of computer programs relevant in organic synthesis.

The year 1990 also marks the anniversary of the University of Helsinki which was founded in 1640. The Finnish nation and the city of Helsinki are justifiably proud of the developments in the University of Helsinki which is increasingly being recognized in the country as the National University. The University's Faculty of Science and Chemistry Department, in particular, have made significant contributions to the Finnish industrial expertise and progress. The Association of Finnish Chemical Societies and the Federation of Chemical Industry in Finland have been generous in their support financial, moral and deployment of staff and resources - to the success of the Conference. The Deputy Mayor of the city and the Rector of the University of Helsinki have personally supported the Conference as well as hosting social events.

The National Organizing Committee wishes to put on record the work of the following younger staff whose contributions and patience in dealing with all organizational matters were much appreciated by the participants.

Askolin, Peter	Lakkisto, Ulla-Maija	Sipilä, Jussi
Asunta, Tuula	Lehesvaara, Marjatta	Sipilä, Kaija
Bernström, Eila	Leinonen, Mauri	Söderström, Martin
Hirvonen, Hannu	Lukola, Mirjam	Tilus, Pirkko
Kaisalo, Leena	Lumme, Kirsi	Wähälä, Kristiina
Kaltia, Seppo	Mäkelä, Taru	Yli-Kauhaluoma, Jari
Kangas, Päivi	Nieminen, Tuula	Åvall, Ann-Kristin
Kiljunen, Harri	Oksanen, Lasse	Östman, Deanne
Kokko, Mariitta	Pietikäinen, Pekka	
Korte Tarja-Kaarina	Riissanen, Juha	

T.A. Hase, J. Koskimies, G.Brunow Organization Committee Officers

L. Koskinen Computer Session Chairman